BOOK REVIEWS: BEAUTIFUL DISASTER & WALKING DISASTER BY JAMIE MCGUIRE

11505797 15745950
Title: Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1), Walking Disaster (Beautiful, #2)
Author: Jamie McGuire
Publication: May 26th 2011 by Jamie McGuire, April 2nd 2013 by Atria Books

When I started Beautiful Disaster, I was seriously wondering what all of the fuss was about. The writing was just okay, and I felt as if the story was being rushed. For example, Abby and Travis became friends very fast and then BOOM he loves her. Thankfully, these initial thoughts did not keep me from reading or loving this book. I have to admit, the more I read, the more enthralled I became with their dysfunctional relationship. After reading the first hundred pages, I was down right addicted. I did not want to put this book down, at all.

Walking Disaster is the very same story told in Travis’s point of view. I enjoyed this one just as much. I did get a bit bored with the repeated dialogue, since I picked it up immediately after finishing Beautiful Disaster, but I loved reading about Travis’s thoughts and feelings. It was refreshing to read from a males perspective and I flew through it.

Travis is a bad boy with big time anger issues that he chooses to deal with by fighting in college. He is the kind of male character that you hate SO MUCH sometimes, but in the end you just can’t help but love anyway. Yes, my favourite kind. There were moments in this book when I seriously wanted to punch him in the face, or at least make Abby stay away from him. He was a disaster, but he had a big heart and tried SO hard to prove himself to her. Abby, however, is a good girl who had a hard upbringing. Her mother was a drunk and her father was a gambler, so she does everything in her power to stay away from that type of lifestyle – at least before falling for Travis.

Shepley, Travis’s roommate, and his girlfriend America also played big parts in these two books. They were such great friends to both Travis and Abby. I enjoyed following them and watching them grow as a couple, even though they weren’t the main focus of the story.

Jamie McGuire knows how to write some addicting books with lots of ups and downs. I am looking forward to reading A Beautiful Wedding and Beautiful Oblivion. If you have read any of these books, let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

maria

Advertisements

COVER REVEAL: THE HEIR BY KIERA CASS

Yesterday the cover for The Heir was finally released, and can we just take a minute to admire how beautiful it is?

22918050This is the fourth book in The Selection series and it sounds like it is going to be just as awesome as the other three! Looking forward to continuing on with this series!

Have you read this series?

Let us know what you thought of it!

CREATURE FEATURE (#3) – FAERIES

UPDATE:
Thanksgiving weekend is here, which means I am home visiting my family. I am so excited to have the weekend off and eat lots of food. Unfortunately, I probably won’t be getting as much reading done as I would like to, but I am hoping to make up for that when I get back on Monday.

FAERIES/FAIRIES/FAE:
For this weeks creature feature, I thought I would talk about faeries/fairies. I have to say, when I tried to do some research, I discovered that there are so many different faerie descriptions. Seriously, they aren’t always the cute little winged people, check out Wikipedia if you would like to see for yourself.

Faeries are typically known as young, winged, small, human looking mythical creatures with magical powers.

I have not read many books about faeries. I don’t know why because they’ve always fascinated me… Regardless, I have a few faerie books that I would like to show you (and eventually read for myself):

1. The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa

IMG_4048.JPG

2. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

IMG_4047.JPG

3. Wings by Aprilynne Pike

IMG_4046.JPG

If you have read any of these, or if you have any book recommendations please let me know in the comments below! Have a great weekend! 🙂

IMG_4051.PNG

BOOK REVIEW: WHEN WAR CALLS BY ZY J. RYKOA

22915365Title: When War Calls
Author: Zy J. Rykoa
Published: 2012
First in The Heroes Fall series
Source: Author
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Maria’s thoughts:
2.5 out of 5 stars.

I am not giving this a low rating because it isn’t a great book. I honestly think that if you are someone that enjoys a good war story and doesn’t mind sci-fi elements being thrown in – you could very well LOVE this book! It is well written, with complex characters and packed with adventure. I just can’t bring myself to give When War Calls a higher rating because I had so much trouble connecting to the story. This is no surprise to me. I’ve always found it difficult to get through war-related novels and this was no exception. As much as I desperately wanted to love this book, it didn’t keep me interested. The world building was hard for me to grasp. I had a very hard time following the story and had gotten confused from time to time. There were some parts that I enjoyed quite a bit, but others were really slow for me.

Most of all, I enjoyed the character development and the dialogue.

Jaden was a wonderful main character and I loved getting to know him throughout this book. I felt for him from the very beginning, as he went through the many difficult emotions of losing loved ones at war. I found myself rushing through the other chapters, just so I could read more about Jaden. I would have liked to see more of Jaden and Alyssa. I am glad that the love interest was thrown in there (really enjoyed those parts) and was very surprised with how it ended.

I have to say, Zy J. Rykoa is a new author with very much potential. I recommend this series to those who are interested in stories of war, sci-fi, fantasy and adventure and look forward to hearing your thoughts on When War Calls.

Mallory’s thoughts:
The world is at war and our main character Jaden is smack in the middle of it.

With no lack of action, we follow Jaden through World War 4, making decisions that could impact a lot more than just himself.

From the very beginning I loved reading about Jaden. He was genuinely nice and really cared for his family, which is an aspect of a character that I really respect. I enjoyed watching him develop so much throughout the book and overcoming the struggles he had to face. He was very strong getting through everything that happened.

I loved the multiple perspectives and getting to see what was going on in different parts of the world.

I typically don’t read this genre so I had a hard time getting through some parts and I did get a bit confused, but at the same time there were parts that I absolutely loved. Especially the tennagen game that was played in the beginning. I was very pleased with the turnout of the characters and the development that we see through a few of them. I loved getting to know more about each person and more about the world they were living in. The descriptions were very well done.

So a little confusing to start but then was enjoyable when I finally figured out what was going on.

If you are looking for an adventurous action packed was story then this is a series you should definitely check out. As a debut novel I am very impressed and I believe the series will only be going up from here.

3/5 star rating.

Thank you so much to the author for sending a copy our way!

TOP TEN TUESDAY (#2)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.
toptentuesday
This weeks Top Ten Tuesday is top ten books for people who like character driven novels.

1. Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson
Click here to find it on Goodreads
9736930
2. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
Click here to find it on Goodreads
186074
3. The Land of Stories series by Chris Colfer
Click here to find the first book on Goodreads
Collages2
4. The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness
Click here to find the first book on Goodreads
ChaosWalkingTrilogy_zps9f8951ee
5. The Maze Runner series by James Dashner
Click here to find the first book on Goodreads
Maze Runner Series - Jashner
6. A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin
Click here to find the first book on Goodreads
my_collection_of_a_song_of_ice_and_fire_by_aimanzhafri-d5mp123
7. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
Click here to find the first book on Goodreads
HP-THE-SERIES
8. Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion
Click here to find it on Goodreads
7619057
9. The Immortal Beloved series by Cate Tiernan
Click here to find the first book on Goodreads
Immortal Beloved series
10. In Honor by Jessi Kirby
Click here to find it on Goodreads
12049227

What do you think of my choices? Let me know!

mallory-name-design-1

NEW RELEASE: THE FIRES OF CALDERON BY LINDSAY CUMMINGS

97ebac40-7537-4db5-be91-d26de497909dTitle: The Fires of Calderon
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Published: 2014 by Katherine Tegen Books
352 pages
First in the Balance Keepers series
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Blurb:
The first book in an epic middle grade fantasy adventure series that takes place in an underground society at the center of the earth. Packed with action, humor, magic, and mystery.

After following a mysterious map into the woods and then under the woods, eleven-year-old Albert Flynn learns he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for fixing problems in three underground Realms at the Core of the earth. His new job is important; if the realms fall out of balance, the world above could be in great danger.

Albert and his Balance Keeper teammates Birdie and Leroy arrive in the Core not a moment too soon. There’s an Imbalance in the Calderon Realm and it’s threatening to bury Albert’s hometown of New York City in a mountain of ash.

The three must train hard completing mental and physical challenges, but above all, they must harness the power of their Tiles—unique superpowers given to each Balance Keeper. So far, Albert’s mastered the art of not mastering his Tile….

With the situation in Calderon growing worse every day, can Albert, Leroy, and Birdie restore balance before New York is destroyed forever? Will Albert master his Tile before it’s too late?

Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, The Unwanteds, and the classic Journey to the Center of the Earth.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This book is out in stores everywhere today! Go out and pick up a copy!

#booknerdigans

FRIDAY READS (#5)

It’s that time of the week again! One more day of work for me and then hopefully I’ll get a nice relaxing reading weekend.

So I am currently reading Whispers at Moonrise by C.C. Hunter. This is the fourth book in the Shadow Falls series and is one of my monthly reads with Maria. We will have a full review of this one up probably in the month of October. It’s okay so far, I’m only 22% of the way through and I’m hoping the excitement picks up.

Click here to find it on Goodreads
13416236

What are you reading this weekend? Let me know!

Mallory