BOOK REVIEW : SAINT ANYTHING BY SARAH DESSEN

23009402
Title: Saint Anything
Author: Sarah Dessen
Published: May 5th 2015 by Viking
417 pages
Source: Purchased

Click here to find it on Goodreads

Maria’s thoughts:

Sydney’s older brother gets charged with a drunk driving conviction. While everyone in her family is so focused on him and his well-being, Sydney feels like she is the only one who cares about the boy who was injured in this accident. She changes schools, starts a new job and develops a very special friendship with siblings Mac and Layla. The Chathams were an awesome family. I enjoyed every second of this beautiful book! The characters were both amazing and relatable. I loved how the author portrayed family and relationships. Sarah Dessen has a writing style that is very dear to my heart. It brings back many memories as I grew up reading all of her books.

5 stars on Goodreads

Mackenzie’s thoughts:

This was definitely my favorite Sarah Dessen book that I’ve read, I’ve read two other of her books years ago; just listen and that summer. I can really see how much her writing and story telling has improved over the years with this book. I really enjoyed the main character Sydney and how she really cares for her family and friends, I also enjoyed the Chathams family and learning about their family. I did not enjoy Sydney’s parents and Ames; he was just so creepy. Towards the end of the book I just couldn’t stand Sydney’s mom because she made Sydney out of the bad child and Peyton as the good guy. She took a lot out on Sydney and never bothered to see how she felt, which I didn’t like. I really liked how the relationship in this book happened throughout the book and not right from the beginning like most books. When I first read about Mac I was trying to figure out what it was short for, when I found out it was Macaulay, it was funny because that’s my brothers name. Overall I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend it!

5 stars on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

