BOOK REVIEW: RED QUEEN BY VICTORIA AVEYARD

17878931Title: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Published: Published February 10th 2015 by Orion
320 pages
First in the Red Queen series
Source: Purchased
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Mare is a red blood. She lives with her family, who struggles to get by financially, and spends her days pick pocketing. Unlike her sister, who has the talent to sew and work for the silver bloods, this is the best that Mare can do to help her family. Mare knows that if she doesn’t get a job soon, she will be sent off to war like her brothers. One day, as Mare makes her rounds outside of a bar, a boy catches her. Instead of getting her punished for trying to steal, the boy gives her the money. Little did Mare know, the friendly boy that she had encountered was actually a prince. Thanks to him, Mare gets her a job at the castle, serving the royal silver bloods. Mare discovers just how different she really is when an accident occurs in front of the King and Queen. That is when she finds out that she is not like any other red blood. She bleeds red, but also has the powers of a silver blood.

Maria’s thoughts:

This book pulled me in so fast. I was completely enthralled by Red Blood from the very first page. I absolutely love books about super powers (as if I don’t say that enough) and for me, this was like the Hunger Games with awesome superpowers and princes. The writing style was wonderful, the world was incredibly captivating, the characters were both very relatable and interesting. I loved reading from Mare’s point of view. She was an amazing, courageous, female lead. The boys in this book stole my heart very early on and I could never choose which one I wanted Mare to end up with. Honestly, I still don’t know. The ending took me entirely by surprise and left me wanting more. Talk about a big plot twist… You really don’t know who to trust after that, and I can’t wait to see what is in store in Red Queen #2. I may even re-read this before then – it is THAT good! It is getting hyped up for a reason people! You want to pick this one up!

I’m keeping this review short and sweet. I don’t want to say too much, because you really should go into this book knowing as little as possible. Just know that I don’t have anything bad to say about Victoria Aveyard’s debut novel and that I can’t wait to discuss SPOILERS with those who have read it already.

I absolutely devoured this book. 5 out of 5 stars, all the way!

Mackenzie’s thoughts:

ncXMxrgcB

Months before it was released, there was so much hype about Red Queen and I was intrigued to know more about it. Red queen sold out at my book store 3 times before I got a copy and then I wanted to read it even more. Going into it, I had high hopes and expectations. I really enjoyed the writing. It didn’t read like a fantasy, it felt almost like a dystopian. It was very easy to understand. For once I could keep up with battle scenes in a book. The author did an amazing job at helping the reader really picture the battles. I really liked the characters and the whole concept of the book. I’m a little confused about some things, but they are supposed to be better explained in the next book from what I heard. I can’t believe how much the author packed into a 320 page book. The plot twist was crazy. You don’t know who to trust and who not to trust. I’m really looking forward to the next instalment to get more answers and to see what happens from where it left off. I highly recommend this book!

5 stars on Goodreads.

2 Comments

  1. Lately I’m really hesitant to read a book that’s being so hyped up. But this one rarely gets a bad review, and I am definitely curious about it! I’ve had it on my Kindle awhile, now. I need to just try it. I’m glad you both enjoyed it so much, and you just gave me more reasons why I should read it.

    Like

  2. Pingback: MARIA’S FEBRUARY AND MARCH WRAP UP | readsbymandm

Leave a Reply

