BOOK REVIEW: TREASURE DARKLY BY JORDAN ELIZABETH

23399901Title: Treasure Darkly (Treasure Chronicles #1)
Author: Jordan Elizabeth
Published: February 16th 2015 by Curiosity Quills Press
289 pages
Source: Author
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Maria’s thoughts:
Clark and his mother are doing everything they can to get by. They don’t have very much money, but they live a happy life together. That is, until Clark receives the ability to awaken the dead and his beloved mother is brutally murdered. Suddenly, the army is after him, wanting to use his new ability, so he is forced to go into hiding. Clark then decides that it is time to meet his birth father. Growing up, he had heard few stories of the man who had left his mother. He only knew what his mother had told him over the years. Clark had only one thing of his fathers: a letter that was addressed to his mother. When Clark shows up on Mr. Treasure’s property, convinced he is his father, he shows him his mothers letter. Mr. Treasure recognized the letter that Clark brought with him, and he and his family welcome the boy into their home with open arms. When Clark gets a visit from a ghost named Eric, claiming that he is Clark’s birth father and not Mr. Treasure, things start to get a little crazy. He must collect his real birth father’s inventions, avoid the army, convince everyone that he is a Treasure to remain in hiding… and on top of all of that, he is falling in love with Amethyst – Mr. Treasure’s daughter.

Whew. There was never a dull moment in this book. I believe that it may have been my first steampunk read, so I was a bit hesitant going into it. I worried that I would not understand everything, but after a few chapters I was more than okay.

First of all, the cover is stunning and the characters are awesome. Clark was an interesting main character that I highly enjoyed reading about. I liked that he was different from the Treasure family. He was always protecting and saving people. Then there’s Amethyst, who is pretty badass for a rich girl. She wanted to learn to use a gun and to defend herself. She was curious and wanted to go on adventures to learn more about what’s outside of her world.

I loved that Clark could confide in Amethyst. They had a very honest and open relationship. They made a great team. It was really odd at first when Amethyst kept coming onto Clark, because I honestly believed that they were related. However, once I learned the truth, I loved the relationship that had blossomed between them. She may have tried throwing herself at him, but for the majority of the book they were simply really good friends. More like partners in crime. Clark had known that there was a possibility of him falling in love with her, but of course everyone believed that they were brother and sister. This forbidden romance aspect made for an even more interesting read.

The more I think about this book, the more I like it. It was so different than what I typically read. In this world, people are not afraid to kill. They just get rid of the bodies and they move on. The action in Treasure Darkly was great and kept me on my toes throughout the entire novel. I highly recommend this book to those who want to get into the steampunk genre! I rated Treasure Darkly 4.5 out of 5 stars. It was such a delight to read and review this book for the author.

Mallory’s thoughts:
Clark has been running away from the army. Drinking a potion he thought was absinthe made him the biggest tool that army could use. He has the power to bring the dead back to life. And finding out he is the bastard son of Garth Treasure is just the leverage he needs to use to his advantage. Seeking the Treasures out, he thinks that being under Garth’s wing will protect him from the army. Little does he know that his adventure is only beginning.

A steampunk novel mixed with the Wild West, this book will be sure to satisfy your action expectations!

I was a little nervous going into this book. I’m not a very big western fan and on the other hand I know very little about steampunk. But there was just enough of each aspect that I didn’t feel scared or overwhelmed by it. It was a nice way to ease myself into new genres. I found the first couple of chapters to be a little slower, but from there the story really picked up the pace. I felt myself reading through chapters at a pretty quick speed. There were a few times where I would ask myself “why is this happening?”, only to have it resolved later on in the book. So it was nice that nothing felt strained or out of place.

The characters were very distinguishable. Each had their own views and attitudes and felt very thought out. In my mind it felt as though I could hear them each talking through the chapters, it really brought the book to life for me.

I look forward to more in the series to find out more about the characters and to see what kind of trouble they get themselves into next time!

4/5 stars from me!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: MARIA’S FEBRUARY AND MARCH WRAP UP | readsbymandm

Leave a Reply

