BOOK REVIEW: THESE BROKEN STARS BY AMIE KAUFMAN AND MEAGAN SPOONER

13138635Title: These Broken Stars
Author: Amie KaufmanMeagan Spooner
Published: December 10th 2013 by Disney Hyperion
374 pages
Source: Purchased
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Why am I so in love with this cover? It’s looking all shiny on my bookshelf right now… I just wish that I would have enjoyed the book as much as I do the pretty cover…

Don’t get me wrong guys, I didn’t dislike These Broken Stars. It was really interesting and not once did I contemplate on not finishing it. It just didn’t leave me as satisfied as I had hoped. It didn’t suck me into the story as much as I had hoped either… Needless to say, I had pretty high expectations going into this book.

These Broken Stars introduces the two main characters right from the beginning. Tarver meets Lilac before the space liner Icarus comes crashing down. To survive this, they are forced to leave together in a pod. They end up on an abandoned planet, where they realize that they were the only two survivors of the space catastrophe. Their time on the mysterious planet forces them to get to know each other. If the crash hadn’t of happened, Tarver and Lilac probably wouldn’t have ever gotten together. As much as Tarver was attracted to the beautiful redhead, he knew that she was the daughter of a very powerful man. They do their best to stay alive and get rescued, but that isn’t all. Lilac begins hearing voices, there are cat-like creatures in the forest and a pretty big plot twist happens towards the end. It’s hard to explain and I don’t know if I even completely understand it myself. Like most readers, this book was NOT what I had expected. You kind of have to go into it blind!

The story seemed long to me. It felt like Tarver and Lilac were on that planet for a really long time and that they went through so much together. I really liked this pacing, but the character development just wasn’t doing it for me. I didn’t really feel attached to either one of them. I think that may have been what I was missing, because the premise of this story seems like something that I would adore!

Nonetheless, Kaufman and Spooner created an interesting survival story. I did really enjoy the relationship between Tarver and Lilac. I just didn’t LOVE this book! I rated These Broken Stars 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. I am really interested to hear your thoughts on this book! Leave a comment down below if you have read it.
IMG_4051

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: MARIA’S FEBRUARY AND MARCH WRAP UP | readsbymandm

Leave a Reply

