BOOK REVIEW: FIFTY SHADES OF GREY BY E.L. JAMES

10818853Title: Fifty Shades of Grey
Author: E.L. James
Published: May 25th 2011 by Vintage
356 pages
Source: Purchased
Genre: Adult Erotic Romance
Click here to find it on Goodreads

You must have heard of this book by now. According to my mother’s TV shows, it’s the 2nd most sold book in the world – right after the bible (imagine that!) According to Amazon, more than 100 million copies sold worldwide. For the few of you who don’t know what this book is about, i’ve included the Goodreads summary below:

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.
 
Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Maria’s thoughts:

I’ve been contemplating on picking this book up for a very long time, for obvious reasons, but decided to give it a try since the movie has recently come out. Honestly, I liked it – but I didn’t love it. I was actually hoping to fall in love with the story, just so that I could defend it. So many people haven’t read the book, or seen the movie, and have been bashing Fifty Shades of Grey and E.L. James since it’s release date. That still bothers me. I don’t understand how people can have such strong opinions without even reading the book. But let’s not get carried away…

I liked Christian from the get go. He’s rich and hot and he has issues. What’s not to love? I didn’t mind Anastasia’s character at first, but as the story progressed she became more and more annoying. I was rooting for their relationship to develop into something more, and for Ana to help Christian with what’s eating him up inside, but i’m not lying when I say that there were moments when I wanted to throw my kobo across the room. The dialogue was incredibly cheesy and I could have done with out the emails going back and forth. And as for sexual content (if you were wondering) I really didn’t have a problem with it until the very last scene. If you’ve read the book, you probably know what I mean. It was just taken a bit too far. I couldn’t help but cringe and yell at Anastasia for being so stupid.

I ended up giving Fifty Shades of Grey 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. For some people, this is being extremely generous, but I didn’t hate the book. It was really entertaining and fun to read for the most part. I just have a lot of mixed feelings towards it! I heard that the books do get better as the series goes on and as their relationship develops. I am interested in knowing what happens, but I’m not sure when or if I will be picking up the sequel.

I just liked the Crossfire series so much more… I’d love to hear your opinion on this book, especially with all of the movie hype going on 🙂 Leave a comment below!

7 Comments

  1. I’ve tried to read the book too, but unluckily when i was browsing I ended up on the sex scene. And so i stopped, immediately. Maybe im not into this kind of book. I also found myself hating this book, but as i go on reviews, they say the story is good, just good… and just skip the sex scenes and you’ll be fine. But i guess, if ever, i would be reading this, i wont pile the book on my shelf. I’ll just have the e-book… 🙂 Good review btw 🙂

    Like

    • It is in the erotica genre and if you haven’t tried reading books like that, it would definitely be intimidating. I didn’t pick it up for the same reason. Plus I didn’t want my mom to know 😉 because she is so against this genre. It’s also really hard to jump from YA romance to Adult romance. I think that NA is the perfect in between genre if you want to start there. But you aren’t missing out on much when it comes to this book in particular. Thanks so much for commenting 🙂 have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: MARIA’S FEBRUARY AND MARCH WRAP UP | readsbymandm

Leave a Reply

