BOOK REVIEW: EMBRACE THE SUCK BY STEPHEN MADDEN

20525598Title: Embrace the Suck
Author: Stephen Madden
Published: 2014 by HyperWave
256 pages
Source: Published
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Embrace the Suck is Madden’s personal memoir of his venture into the world of Crossfit. In the past year and a half I have really gotten into fitness but I have never worked up the courage to try crossfit, so I figured why not start reading about it to see if it is something I would be interested in doing. And let me tell you, from the sounds of this book it does not sound easy or even fun at all, but I still very badly want to try it.

I knew nothing of crossfit so I enjoyed him explaining how it works, like with the WOD (workout of the day). I found it to be quite motivational. Madden was a lot older and not as fit as everyone else he worked out with, but I loved how he replayed his thought processes about not giving up. Your body can withstand a lot, it’s your mind that you have to convince.

This was a very fun, quick and easy read. If you need some motivational reading, you should probably check this out. While reading it I found myself relating and then when I finally finished all I wanted to do was go for some long sprints and lift some heavy ass weights.

I rated this book a 4/5 stars and recommend it to those of you who are fitness obsessed like myself!
mallory-name-design-1

Leave a Reply

