BOOK REVIEW: HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE BY DIANA WYNNE JONES

Howl'sMovingCastle_B_PBTitle: Howl’s Moving Castle
Author: Diana Wynne Jones
Published: 1986
302 pages
First in the Howl’s Moving Castle series
Source: Purchased

Sophie Hatter is the eldest of three daughters, meaning if she chooses to leave home to seek her fate than she is doomed. One day, into her family shop comes the Witch of the Waste and unfortunate circumstances lead Sophie to turning into an old lady. Unable to tell anyone that she is cursed, Sophie sets out to find help. She travels to the moving castle, home of Wizard Howl. He is rumoured to eat the hearts of young girls but Sophie knows there is a chance that he could help break the curse. What she discovers about Wizard Howl is far different than what she expected.

I’m going to start out my review by saying I went into this completely unaware of what this story was about. I have never watched the anime by Studio Ghibli, nor had I even read the synopsis of the book. But while I was on vacation in Victoria, B.C, I went into Munro’s Bookstore and when I saw Howl’s Moving Castle I knew it was coming home with me. The new covers are absolutely amazing, easily one of my favorite covers ever.

Moving on to the story. I did find the beginning a little bit slow. I was far too anxious and excited about getting to the appearance of Wizard Howl and kept wondering when he would show up. But once he finally came into the story line I was hooked. Our main characters Sophie, Howl, Michael and Calcifer were amazing and so loveable. Not to mention hilarious. I found myself giggling out loud more than I thought I would. There is one part worth mentioning and that is Howl’s drunk scene. I laughed so hard I started choking, It was perfect.

This book really sparked my imagination and made me feel like I was a little girl all over again. I recommend this book to those of you who feel like going on a journey back in time and feeling like you are young again!

I can’t wait to get my hands on the Studio Ghibli film to watch the characters come to life! And I will definitely be continuing on with this series.

I rated this book a 4/5 stars.

Have you read Howl’s Moving Castle? Let me know what you thought in the comments!

mallory-name-design-1

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

