BOOK REVIEW: THE MINE BY JOHN A. HELDT

19353394Title: The Mine
Author: John A. Heldt
Published: February 2012
290 pages
Source: Author
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Maria’s thoughts:
A story of time travel, family and love.

Joel Smith is a confident college senior who decides to take a trip with his best friend before graduation. Seeking adventure, Joel finds himself exploring an old Montana mine. However, when he exits the mine, things aren’t quite the same as they were when he’d entered. He soon learns that he is no longer in the year 2000, but in 1941. This travel through time leads to many wonderful relationships, one of them being with a much younger version of Joel’s grandmother. Joel has no trouble fitting into this time period as he befriends a wonderful family and friends. Of course, Joel can’t possibly stay in the past forever, he has a life of his own in the present, but he’s grown so attached to his new family and lifestyle that it is hard to imagine his life any other way.

I enjoyed this book immensely. The writing was extremely well done and the story pulled me in from the moment Joel discovered he was in 1941. I had predicted it to be about a mine and time travel, though I never imagined there to be a love story involved. The romance had caught me by surprise and had really pulled me into the story. Needless to say, Joel and Grace had my full attention.

Every character was complex and had an interesting backstory of their own. Joel was both intelligent and funny, he brought joy to many characters in this book. Known for seeking adventure and taking risks, Joel also had the heart of gold and genuinely cared for his new friends. Tom and his father accepted Joel right away, taking him into their home. Tom’s girlfriend, Ginny, and her group of friends were no exception. That’s how he meets Grace, and it isn’t not long after that that Joel begins to fall in love with her. The author did a remarkable job at bringing these loveable 40s characters to life.

It was extremely fascinating to read about a young boy meeting his grandmother in the past, when she was only 21 years old. I loved learning about her friends, her first love and her life before her children and grandchildren came along. The old 40s setting was very captivating and the mystery behind the time traveling mine was more than enough to keep readers interested. The entire time that I was reading, I wondered if what Joel was doing in 1941 would affect the future. Not once did I feel like I knew what was about to happen. The author kept me on my toes and in the end, I still didn’t know what choice Joel would make.

Mr. Heldt, thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to read about Joel’s journey. I assure you that your story will not be forgotten. It has given me the urge to pick up more time travel related novels and I would be happy to read your second book in the Northwest Passage series.Readers, if you are interested in getting into the science fiction/time travel genre and have a love for romance and great characters – this book is for you!

Mallory’s thoughts:
Joel Smith is thrown 60 years back in time after entering a mine as a strange planet alignment is occurring. From 2000 back to 1941 , Joel is left with no money (that he can use) and no place to stay. He parks himself on a bench to sleep for the night when he hears a fight going on. Coming to the rescue of a boy named Tom, who decides to take Joel home with him to his family. From there we follow Joel as he tries to make a life for himself in a time that is headed straight for war.

Time travel books can always be iffy for me, but I’m happy to report that I fell in love with this one. I’m going to start out by talking about the setting. I loved the feel of the book and how easily it shifted from modern time to the 1940’s. The detailing in the writing was done so well that visualizing was so extremely easy that I felt like I was watching a movie.

Moving on to characters. To put it simply: I fell in love with all of them. They each had a purpose and characteristics that stood out. They each felt like a friend that I took my time getting to know. Joel was one of my favorite main characters to read about. He was so genuinely selfless and thoughtful of everyone other than himself. He was very refreshing to read about. The Carters (Tom’s parents) gave the book such a great feel too. They brought Joel into their family and home even though they didn’t know him and yet they acted as true parents towards him. My heart melts when I read about characters like them.

The romance (as Maria said in her review) was quite a shock. I was not expecting it at all and yet it just clashed so well with the whole story. I loved Grace and Joel together as a couple and what they brought out of each other.

I am so happy we were contacted to review this book. It was the perfect start to my 2015 reading list. An easy 4.5/5 stars for me. And thank you so much to the author again for sending this our way!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: MARIA’S JANUARY 2015 WRAP UP | readsbymandm

Leave a Reply

