BOOK REVIEW: WRITTEN IN RED BY ANNE BISHOP

15711341Title: Written in Red
Author: Anne Bishop
Published: March 5th 2013 by NAL
433 pages
First in The Others series
Source: Purchased
Click here to find it on Goodreads

So many feels! Everything I want in a book! 

 Written in Red follows a young blood prophet named Meg and the Others. A blood prophet is a human being that is able to see the future when cut, while the Others are different beings such as vampires, elementals and shape shifters. In this world, the paranormal beings and the human beings co-exist. Meg is finally able to escape from the people who have held her captive for so long and is then hired as the Others human liaison to deal with their mail and deliveries.

Anne Bishop created so many wonderful characters in this story. Even the side characters were amazing and complex. I may have been a bit confused with the multiple point of views in the beginning, but by the end of the book I felt as if I knew every one of the characters personally.

Meg was a very interesting character to read about. Having spent most of her life held captive and controlled, she isn’t used to living in the real world. She is funny, very down to earth and innocent. She has no trouble making friends because everyone can’t help but love her.

Simon is another one of the main characters. He is part of the group of Others and is a wolf shapeshifter. His personality is more rough around the edges, but he means well. He is a true leader and protector. I can’t help but root for him and Meg. Fingers crossed that they get together eventually because I would absolutely LOVE them as a couple.

emmastone-thebestWritten in Red is the best adult urban fantasy book that I have read thus far. I loved it so much! I took my time with this over the holidays and enjoyed every second spent reading it because it was so freaking refreshing. I am a hardcore paranormal/urban fantasy lover, and this book blew me away with it’s originality and amazing characters. This is definitely going to have a place on my favorites shelf and I can’t wait to get my hands on book #2! I apologize for the babbling. It’s been a while since i’ve posted an actual review and I find it hard to express how much I loved this book! If you are a fan of urban fantasy, you won’t want to miss out on this one. Let me know if you have read it or would like to read it in the comments below! 5 out of 5 stars!

IMG_4051
6 Comments

  1. Pingback: MARIA’S JANUARY 2015 WRAP UP | readsbymandm

Leave a Reply

