MARIA’S TOP 14 OF 2014

20142014 was an amazing reading year for me! I passed my goal by reading 92 books, I started this blog with Mallory and I expanded my tiny book collection. I read some awesome books this year, but did manage to narrow it down to my top 14. These are my recommendations to you! I loved each and everyone of them. If you loved any of these books as much as I did, let me know in the comments below. Also, I’d love to hear about your favorite books of the year!  

15749186644276916143347

#14. To all the boys i’ve loved before by Jenny Han ★★★★★
This was the perfect summer day read! Cute contemporary!

#13. Paper Towns by John Green ★★★★★
Such a wonderful adventure. John Green’s writing never fails to amaze me.

#12. We were Liars by E. Lockhart ★★★★★
Mysterious and wonderful. This contemporary is very different and you should definitely give it a chance!
Click here for our review!

1057636523571811235712

#11. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken ★★★★★
Amazing characters and awesome super powers! Looking forward to continuing this series in 2015. 

#10. Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead ★★★★★
I started to get more into adult urban fantasy this year. Richelle Mead is totally one of my favorite authors! I love her characters and writing style. She never fails at getting me hooked.
Click here for my review!

#9. Cinder and Scarlet by Marissa Meyer ★★★★★
Fairytale retellings! Cinder really surprised me and Scarlet was even better. I enjoy reading these books so much! 

97369301908140311408650

#8. Before I go to sleep by S.J Watson ★★★★★
Blew my mind! I flew through this book and couldn’t think of anything else even after finishing it.
Click here for our full review!

#7. The Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout ★★★★
One of the “funnest” series I have ever read! I can’t wait to read more of Jennifer L Armentrouts books.
Click here for my review of Obsidian, book #1 in the Lux series.

#6. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer series by Michelle Hodkin ★★★★
This dark paranormal romance series was right up my alley! I was so attached to the characters.
Click here for my series review!

164296196186357 13335037

#5. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson ★★★★★
I wasn’t expecting to love this one, but I really did. It really got me in the fantasy mood and I can’t wait to read the second book in this series.

#4. The Maze Runner by James Dashner ★★★★★
I adored this book! It was action packed and I couldn’t put it down. Everyone should read this! I really want to read the other books in this series in 2015.
Click here for my book and movie review!

#3. The Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth ★★★★★
One of my favorite series for sure! I adored the three books and will definitely be rereading them in the future. 

317788401

#2. The Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling ★★★★★
It took me forever to pick these ones up, but I finally did! You are never too old to read this amazing series. I enjoyed every minute of it.
Click here for my series review!

#1. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover ★★★★★
I fell head over heals in love with this book. I decided that I want to read everything by Colleen Hoover. She has the most beautiful writing style!
Click here for our book discussion!

IMG_4051

7 Comments

  1. I’m currently reading We Were Liars (finally!) but I’d probably agree with you that quite a few other books on your list were pretty amazing. I loved the Lux series in particular (not to mention Divergent and the Maze Runner -> both of which were turned into movies! Yay!) 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

