BOOK REVIEW: BLOODLINES BY RICHELLE MEAD

Bloodlines_NovelTitle: Bloodlines
Author: Richelle Mead
Published: August 23rd 2011 by Razorbill
421 pages
First in the Bloodlines series
Source: Purchased
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Once again, I love the feeling of diving into one of Richelle Meads paranormal series. Bloodlines gave me the same happy feels as her Vampire Academy series did.

Bloodlines follows Sydney, the alchemist who helped Rose in the last VA book. When the story begins, she is in trouble for helping the vampires, but has been requested to do an important alchemist job to protect Jill Dragomir. Sydney must enrol in a boarding school in Palm Springs, California and pose as Jill’s roommate. Rose actually makes an appearance in the beginning of the book (which made me super happy) and both Adrian and Eddie are sent to Palm Springs to help keep Jill safe.

I had so much fun reading this book, but the entire time my heart was screaming SYDNEY AND ADRIAN GET TOGETHER ALREADY, so i’m hoping to see more relationship building in the second book. I really want and need some more Adrian in my life. He’s no Dimitri. But still… I hope something happens there.

I really liked reading Sydney’s POV as an alchemist, it was a nice change. Instead of being inside of Rose’s head and reading about how she feels about humans, we get to read about Sydney’s take on vampires. She seemed so small and innocent in the beginning of the book, but grew much more independent and strong as the story progressed. In the end, she was able to stand up for herself and for what she believed in. I loved how smart Sydney was and how she loved to learn. Getting sent to a boarding school wasn’t a punishment for her, as she enjoyed helping her teachers and learning new things. Sydney was a curious character and she would question things that other people wouldn’t even notice. She was determined and did her research when something didn’t seam right to her, never giving up until coming to a conclusion. Unlike most alchemists, Sydney didn’t simply view things as black and white. She respected her alchemist elders and the rules that were to be followed, but also stayed loyal and kind to the vampires around her.

The story started out a bit slow for me, but I enjoyed it nonetheless because of the awesome characters. Once the action really started to happen, I couldn’t put the book down. Every time I would finish a chapter, it would end with an intense sentence that would push me to keep reading. This is what I love about Richelle Meads writing!

I rated Bloodlines 4 out of 5 stars and I am really excited to read the second book in the Bloodlines series, The Golden Lily. I have a feeling that this series is going to get better and better with each book. I would love to hear your thoughts on this series, so if you have read it COMMENT BELOW!

IMG_4051

Leave a Reply

