MALLORY’S NOVEMBER WRAP UP + DECEMBER TBR

Well I don’t feel like I read very much in November at all. I had a busy month and I switched jobs. My plan in December is to make more time for reading, especially since I’ll be getting quite a bit of time off for Christmas.

So on to the wrap up. I read a total of nine books this month.

1. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater ★★★
I found myself getting lost throughout this a lot. Definitely nowhere near as good as the first book.

2. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson ★★★★★
Probably my favorite book of the month. Loved loved loved it. We have already posted our discussion on this book and you can find that here: https://readsbymandm.wordpress.com/2014/11/15/book-discussion-the-kiss-of-deception-by-mary-e-pearson/

3. Redwall by Brian Jacques ★★★★
Loved this book. I have already posted my review and you can find that here: https://readsbymandm.wordpress.com/2014/11/18/book-review-redwall-by-brian-jacques/

4. This is Sarah by Ally Malinenko ★★★★
Maria and I received this from the author herself and we have already posted our review. Check that out here: https://readsbymandm.wordpress.com/2014/11/20/book-review-this-is-sarah-by-ally-malinenko/

5. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover ★★★★★
Adored this book. We have a discussion coming up for this one sometime next week so be sure to check that out.

6. The Lake of Souls by Darren Shan ★★★★★
The 10th book in the Saga of Darren Shan series. This series is so great. I have a full series review coming up within the next few days.

7. The Lord of Shadows by Darren Shan ★★★★★
The 11th book in the Saga of Darren Shan series. Just as good as the rest.

8. The Sons of Destiny by Darren Shan ★★★★★
The 12th and final book in the Saga of Darren Shan. Definitely not how I was expecting the series to end but loved it. I’m now sad that it is over. Be sure to checkout my series review within the next couple days.

9. The Lorax by Dr. Seuss ★★★★★
Obviously this deserves five stars. So adorable and now I want to watch the movie again!

Okay so for December I made quite a large TBR, as always. Depending on how much time I have I might switch things up but we will see as the month goes on how I feel.

1. My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by various authors. This is our discussion book of the month.
2. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I’m currently reading this and it is my book clubs choice of the month.
3. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken. Starting this one AS SOON as I finish my current read.
4. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. Carrying this over from November.
5. The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson. I want to read this with my sister on Christmas Eve. She doesn’t know that yet though.
6. The Grinch Who Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss. Have already read this before but The Grinch is my all time favorite Christmas story/movie.
7. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green.
8. Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World by Brian Lee O’Malley.
9. Scott Pilgrim & the Infinite Sadness by Brian Lee O’Malley.
10. A Grimm Warning by Chris Colfer.
11. The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman.
12. The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman.
13. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer.
14. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi.
15. Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins.
16. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.
17. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer.

So as you can see I have some super easy reads on there that shouldn’t take long at all. So I’m going to try and make my way through the TBR as much as I can. I always find myself slacking each December but we will see how this one goes.

How was your November? What are you planning on reading in December? Let me know in the comments.
mallory-name-design-1

2 Comments

  1. First and foremost, I need to say how thrilling it was to find another Mallory in the world–and one who is a book blogger, too! I only know one other Mallory which is strange because our name really isn’t THAT unusual… So, hello, from one Mallory to another! And hello, Maria! You’re cool, too!

    I read The Kiss of Deception earlier in the year and both liked and didn’t like it; it was actually the last book I read before I started blogging, and for some reason I didn’t write a review. I am interested in the sequel, though… I also read Redwall years ago as a child and actually plan to reread it in 2015.

    The Darkest Minds is SO GOOD! It really surprised me by how good it was. An Abundance of Katherines is a really fun read, probably my favorite of John Green’s books (though I really enjoyed Paper Towns and of course The Fault in Our Stars). Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy is fabulous. I consider them contemporary classics and reread The Golden Compass earlier this year. It was just as great and even better than I’d remembered. I also loved the Shatter Me Trilogy and love The Lunar Chronicles. You’ve got some great books on your TBR!

    Like

    • Ahh so exciting! I never meet any Mallory’s either, especially ones that are into books!

      The Kiss of Deception is one of those books that I feel like most people either really love or really hate. I’m very interested to see what happens in the sequel!

      I’m only about five chapters in to The Darkest Minds right now and am already loving it so much. And wow you’ve already read most of the books I have planned! Good to hear good things about them though :). I’m super excited for my list this month.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

