BOOK REVIEW: SOPPY BY PHILIPPA RICE

21535713Title: Soppy
Author: Philippa Rice
Published: December 2nd 2014 by Andrews McMeel Publishing
Source: Netgalley
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Mallory’s thoughts:
Soppy is a love story told through graphic novel form. The main characters are the author Rice herself and her boyfriend. I’ve never felt so much emotion from a graphic novel. It perfectly depicts a happy couple in their relationship through very simplistic yet beautiful artwork. The color scheme consists of red, black and white. In my mind, red is the color of love and it fits so well with the story.

She shows that love is not always grand gestures but can be found in the simple day to day things that we do. I found they’re relationship very similar to mine and my boyfriends so I literally found myself smiling from ear to ear while reading this.

I really hope Rice will continue making graphic novels because after this I am already considering myself a big fan of her work.

Thank you to Netgalley for providing us an arc of this novel.

A 5/5 star from me.

Maria’s thoughts:
Philippa Rice does a wonderful job at portraying what it is to be in true relationship. She brings her characters to life as they do everyday things together.

8497949396_b702c9abf8_b

(Is that not the cutest thing ever?)

Soppy is an illustrated story based on Philippa Rice’s relationship with her real-life boyfriend. She gets you thinking about your own relationship as you flip through her comics and shows us everyday tasks that couples frequently do together when they share a space. Things as simple as doing the dishes, cooking and relaxing together. Sometimes we tend to forget to appreciate the little things like that while living with a boyfriend/girlfriend. Philippa Rice also illustrates silly arguments that often arise in a relationship. For example, who should get up and make the tea. These moments are very funny, as it makes you think of similar arguments that surface often in your own relationship.In the few pages and few words that are presented to us, we can still come to know Phillipa and Lukes personalities. The fact that this book is based on true events, and true characters, makes it very realistic and very relatable. Everyone who has been in a relationship can relate to Soppy. Especially those who have moved in together.
1
This book made me smile from ear to ear. I found myself nodding and laughing at the silly things that I do too in my relationship. Soppy is a feel-good book. The scenarios are outstanding and the illustrations portray them in an adorable way. It would be hard not to fall in love with these cute little comics.

If you’re looking for a little happiness in your love life – read Soppy.If you’re having a bad day – read Soppy.Soppy will have you smiling and wanting to go give your lover a big hug. I guarantee that it will brighten your day and make you appreciate the moments you share with your significant other. Sometimes you just need a happy story to relate to. No drama, no tears. Soppy left me feeling all warm and fuzzy inside. All I wanted to do was cuddle up on the couch with my boyfriend and watch some good old Netflix (which we do every single night, but I am starting to appreciate more hehe).

5 out of 5 stars! I fell so in love with Soppy that I need to get the physical copy in my life! I already want to read it again. And again. And again.
Big thank you to Philippa Rice for creating this love story and to Netgalley for providing us with a copy. 
Leave a Reply

