BOOK REVIEW : THE MERCILESS BY DANIELLE VEGA

18667769
Title: The Merciless
Author: Danielle Vega
Published: June 12th 2014 by Razorbill
279 pages
Source: Purchased

Maria’s thoughts:
Sofia moves to a new town and becomes the new girl all over again. A lot like the movie “Mean Girls”, she befriends both the popular and the unpopular crowd.
Popular croud: Riley, Alexis and Grace
Mean-girls-mean-girls-23781900-714-474
Unpopular croud: Brooklyn
tumblr_m2sl0kOtiL1qc9w04o1_500
Riley and her posse are your not your typical mean girls. They take their religion very seriously, and honestly believe that Brooklyn is evil and has to be “saved”. Sofia agrees to spy on Brooklyn for Riley, but secretly becomes friends with her. Brooklyn is the bad-ass character. She does what she wants, when she wants, and believes that Sofia is a lot more like her than she thinks. Sofia never really was the religious type, but follows Riley in order to fit in. Wanting to help Brooklynn, and not upset Riley, Sofia agrees to help “save her”. Sofia never expected it to result in an exorcism

One word to describe the Merciless: CREEPY

I really enjoyed this book. It is definitely something you need to save for an evening that you will have a few hours to spend reading – because you will want to finish this in one sitting. Like a scary movie, you can’t look away, no matter how gruesome it gets. And it does get pretty gruesome at times. Danielle Vega does an incredible job at pulling her readers in.

 It was hard to rate the Merciless, but after finishing it and needing to get out of bed and try to think of ANYTHING but what I had just read, I realized that I really loved this reading experience. At first, I was leaning towards three or four stars. It started out just like any high-school/mean-girls scenario. Nevertheless, as the novel progressed, I become enthralled with this YA horror story, and in the end I couldn’t give it less than 5 out of 5 stars.

It truly did creep me out.It might not come off as scary to you, it might not frighten you enough to keep you awake at night, but if you have read The Merciless, you have to admit that some of the descriptions are down right creepy and that those girls are seriously messed up.

Think you can handle it? Maybe not. Before going into this book, ask yourself if you are okay with reading very detailed descriptions of torture and blood. Does the thought of ripping someones nails off make you cringe? Maybe you should pick up an other book… There are still images haunting me since finishing The Merciless. However, if you are willing to dive into this fast-paced thrilling read and you are looking to be creeped out, I highly recommend it. It is Halloween, after all.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-8227-1382062672-4

Mallory’s thoughts:
I purposely avoided reviews for this book as I did not want to be spoiled in any way. I didn’t even let myself read the synopsis of the book because I did not want to know a single thing. I wish I would have so I could have mentally prepared myself a little bit. Total surprise.

I never expected this to be so brutally gory.

Sofia is the new girl in school. She finds a dead, skinned cat inside of a pentagram under the bleachers and when popular girl Riley tells her it was done by Brooklyn, Sofia believes her and befriends Brooklyn to spy on her for her new group of popular friends. Little does she know Riley, Grace and Alexis are extremely religious and plan to take things to the extreme to expel the “demon” inside of Brooklyn. Locked in a house, Sofia, Riley, Grace and Alexis perform an exorcism. One that turns torturous.

Sofia has no choice but to take part.

Let me just start out by saying I do not do well with gore, torture and blood whatsoever. I am the worlds biggest chicken with a very weak stomach, and I would say about 75% of this book was torture. At one point I had to throw away the broccoli and carrots that I was eating, I just couldn’t handle it. The writing is so descriptive it feels as though you are sitting in the basement watching these horrific events unfold right before your own eyes.

I give major props to Vega. The story was so enthralling that no matter how grossed out or freaked out I was, I still needed to know what happened next. I read this in two sittings.

It was a great book to read for the Halloween season and I definitely recommend it to all you horror fanatics.

3/5 stars from me.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: readsbymandm

Leave a Reply

