BOOK REVIEW: WHEN WAR CALLS BY ZY J. RYKOA

22915365Title: When War Calls
Author: Zy J. Rykoa
Published: 2012
First in The Heroes Fall series
Source: Author
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Maria’s thoughts:
2.5 out of 5 stars.

I am not giving this a low rating because it isn’t a great book. I honestly think that if you are someone that enjoys a good war story and doesn’t mind sci-fi elements being thrown in – you could very well LOVE this book! It is well written, with complex characters and packed with adventure. I just can’t bring myself to give When War Calls a higher rating because I had so much trouble connecting to the story. This is no surprise to me. I’ve always found it difficult to get through war-related novels and this was no exception. As much as I desperately wanted to love this book, it didn’t keep me interested. The world building was hard for me to grasp. I had a very hard time following the story and had gotten confused from time to time. There were some parts that I enjoyed quite a bit, but others were really slow for me.

Most of all, I enjoyed the character development and the dialogue.

Jaden was a wonderful main character and I loved getting to know him throughout this book. I felt for him from the very beginning, as he went through the many difficult emotions of losing loved ones at war. I found myself rushing through the other chapters, just so I could read more about Jaden. I would have liked to see more of Jaden and Alyssa. I am glad that the love interest was thrown in there (really enjoyed those parts) and was very surprised with how it ended.

I have to say, Zy J. Rykoa is a new author with very much potential. I recommend this series to those who are interested in stories of war, sci-fi, fantasy and adventure and look forward to hearing your thoughts on When War Calls.

Mallory’s thoughts:
The world is at war and our main character Jaden is smack in the middle of it.

With no lack of action, we follow Jaden through World War 4, making decisions that could impact a lot more than just himself.

From the very beginning I loved reading about Jaden. He was genuinely nice and really cared for his family, which is an aspect of a character that I really respect. I enjoyed watching him develop so much throughout the book and overcoming the struggles he had to face. He was very strong getting through everything that happened.

I loved the multiple perspectives and getting to see what was going on in different parts of the world.

I typically don’t read this genre so I had a hard time getting through some parts and I did get a bit confused, but at the same time there were parts that I absolutely loved. Especially the tennagen game that was played in the beginning. I was very pleased with the turnout of the characters and the development that we see through a few of them. I loved getting to know more about each person and more about the world they were living in. The descriptions were very well done.

So a little confusing to start but then was enjoyable when I finally figured out what was going on.

If you are looking for an adventurous action packed was story then this is a series you should definitely check out. As a debut novel I am very impressed and I believe the series will only be going up from here.

3/5 star rating.

Thank you so much to the author for sending a copy our way!

Leave a Reply

