BOOK REVIEW: JUST ONE DAY BY GAYLE FORMAN

justTitle: Just One Day
Author: Gayle Forman
Published: August 20th 2013 by Speak
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, ChickLit, Travel
Pages: 400 pages
Source: Purchased
Goodreads

Summary (Goodreads):
When sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.

Maria and Mackenzie’s thoughts:
WARNING:MAY BE SPOILERS

Predictions

Mackenzie : Before reading the book I didn’t really have any predictions, I went into it blind and I didn’t know what to expect. I thought it was just going to be another love story.

Maria : Going into this book, I thought that it was a love story in Paris and that the entire book would take place in that one day. I had no idea that it would cover much more than that.

Surprises

Mackenzie: Yes, when Willem was talking to all of these other girls and kind of flirting with them while Allyson was right there. Also I was surprised about how it ended; I didn’t know where the author was going with the story, so some of it surprised me.

Maria: The fact that we got to see her in college surprised me. When he left, it surprised me. At that point I had no idea what was going to happen next. For a lot of people, this may have been expected, but I didn’t read the synopsis or any reviews before going into this book.

Favorite Characters

Mackenzie: Dee was one of my favorite characters, he was so funny and sassy! I loved how he played all these different characters and voices. He always had a good spirit too. He was a good friend to Allyson.

Maria: Allyson and Dee! Like Mackenzie, I really came to love Dee. He added so much to the story. I wouldn’t say that I liked him better than Allyson, because I really enjoyed watching her character grow and learn throughout this book, but he made it a lot more fun to read.

Loved 

Mackenzie: About Allyson and Willem just one day, I loved the adventure and the unknown! I really loved their connection and all of Willem different point of views on different things and of course his metaphors. I really like reading about Paris and it was a new experience for Allyson since she has never been, it was like the reader got to go to Paris too for the first time.

Maria: First of all, I loved the setting in Paris because it reminded me of my school trip that I had taken a few years ago. I really liked reading about when Allyson and Willem met, when she started her first year of college and when she desperately tried to track Willem down. The character development was extremely well done. The friendships felt very real, as they were developed so well in this book.

 Would change

Mackenzie: The ending and how Allyson finally found Willem. I thought that it took too long and I lost some interest. I thought she was never going to find him. Allyson went through a lot of effort to find him and I kind of think it was a waste of time and money for her. It seemed like Willem didn’t care for her that much.

Maria : I too had found myself getting bored towards the middle of this book, but luckily it picked back up towards the end. I’m not really sure what I would change about this book other than that. I really enjoyed it.

Just One Year

Mackenzie: Yes, I do plan on reading Just One Year. I want to know Willem’s story and his point of view on things.

Maria: I would like to read the second book. I really came to like Gayle Forman’s writing style and do plan on reading more of her work.

Quotes
paris

Mackenzie’s favorite quotes:
“Sometimes the best way to find out what you’re supposed to do is by doing the thing you’re not supposed to do.”

 “You have to fall in love to be in love, but falling in love isn’t the same as being in love”

 “C’est courageux d’aller dans l’inconnu’: It is courageous to go into territory unknown.”

 “But what if Shakespeare― and Hamlet― were asking the wrong question? What if the real question is not whether to be, but how to be?”

 Maria’s favorite quote:
“We are born in one day. We die in one day. We can change in one day. And we can fall in love in one day.
Anything can happen in just one day.” 

Rating: Mackenzie rated Just one Day 5 out of 5 stars. Maria gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

220Thank you Mackenzie for reading and reviewing an other book with me. It is always a pleasure to hear your thoughts and i’m sure others will enjoy them as well. Both mine and Mackenzie’s Goodreads pages will be linked below if you would like to check those out. Also, if you have read this book – don’t be afraid to leave a comment!
maria

Mackenzie’s                   Maria’s
Goodreads
                    Goodreads
+Instagram                   
 mackenzie            maria

Leave a Reply

