BOOK REVIEW: SERAPHINA BY RACHEL HARTMAN

19549841Title: Seraphina
Author: Rachel Hartman
Published: 2012 by Random House Books for Young Readers
512 pages
First in the Seraphina series
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Seraphina Dombegh is a sixteen year old girl who lives in the kingdom of Goredd and is a musician in the court. The night before the 40th anniversary of the treaty signing declaring peace between dragons and humans, Prince Rufus of Goredd is murdered and it seems like it was a dragon that did it. Seraphina is thrown into the mystery of trying to figure out who did it.

These dragons are unlike any I’ve ever read about, they have the ability to turn into humans. I’m used to dragons being big, beautiful and badass creatures but throughout this book they mostly maintained human form. I think that is why I had a hard time learning to love them as they mostly seemed like plain humans to me.

I had a hard time getting into the story as you are thrown right into it with not much explanation for the first few chapters. Lots of confusing names and terminology to keep track of. I started to enjoy it more after not being as confused (especially with her mind garden).

I’m definitely going to check out the sequel that is coming out next year. I can’t wait to learn more about these characters and dragons and the world created by Hartman.

I gave this one a 3 out of 5 star rating.

Have you read this book? Let me know what you thought about it.

Mallory

Leave a Reply

