BOOK AND MOVIE REVIEW: THE MAZE RUNNER BY JAMES DASHNER

The_Maze_Runner_cover
Title: The Maze Runner
Author: James Dashner
Published:  2009 by Delacorte Press
Pages: 374
Source: Purchased

Click here to find it on goodreads

Read the book first

When I say read the book first – I mean it. I know everyone always says “the book is better than the movie”, but this book is FANTASTIC and worth ALL of the hype.  

I picked this up out of the blue while doing some shopping at Walmart. Of course, I immediately started reading it and couldn’t stop. In two busy days of university classes and working, I managed to finish this book and watch the new movie. It’s that good!

The book begins with Thomas, who wakes up in a box, surrounded by boys who call themselves the Gladers. Confused and afraid, Thomas can’t remember anything about his past. He soon discovers the maze.  Not like any other, the maze doors are only open during the day and it changes every night. Haunted by animal like monsters known as the grievers, no one has ever survived a night in the maze. Thomas is intrigued by this. Something inside of him wants to venture out into the maze. When two boys are in danger, Thomas can’t help himself as he runs in the maze to help them. When a girl arrives in the box unexpectedly, everything begins to change.

I don’t want to give too much away because I really think you should find out for yourself, but I have to say that I really appreciated the action-packed short chapters. It truly is a page turner as the pacing is very well done. Dashner does a great job captivating his readers as they try to solve the puzzle that lies within the maze. I loved the protagonist as well as the other characters; they were developed quite well throughout this book. The Gladers slang had me laughing out loud and made for a very unique and memorable sci-fi dystopian read.

I am a sucker for survival stories and this one had me thinking the famous Lord of the Flies. However, I did enjoy the Maze Runner much more.

the_maze_runner-wide

The movie

Like I said, I watched the movie the same day as I finished reading The Maze Runner. The story was still very fresh in my mind. As the movie began with the screeching loud sounds of the elevator and the darkness surrounding Thomas in the box, I knew that I was in for a treat. I really think that this movie was well put together. I was waiting for the typical reactions that I encounter while watching book-to-movie adaptations (that was stupid… this is boring…) but I can honestly say that I was pleased with the Maze Runner. No, it wasn’t perfect. Yes, it was slow at parts. Yes, they made some changes – but it didn’t ruin the experience for me.

I was nervous going in to this movie, because I wanted it to resemble the image that I had created in my mind while reading the book. I am pleased to say that the Gladers were spot on! With the exception of not being as mean as they were in the book, the actors did a great job. I really found myself getting attached to certain characters in the movie, like Chuck for example.

The Grievers freaked me out a little bit. I actually laughed the first time I seen the robot-spider looking creatures. My boyfriend leaned over me and said “You didn’t tell me that there was going to be transformers in this movie!” As weird as these monsters were, I admit that I couldn’t have come up with a better representation of them.

I would have liked the movie to show more of the boys making a life for themselves in the Glade, show what everyone had to do every day in order to survive, because it was an important aspect in the book. And I do want to point out that this movie might be confusing for someone who hasn’t read the book. I would have liked to see more explanations when it comes to the actual maze and the creators. Time also seemed to move really fast in the movie. That being said, I understand that it is challenging to fit such a great book in a 2 hour movie.

I really enjoyed watching the Maze Runner on the big screen and it left me wanting to find out more. It even left my boyfriend with unanswered questions. He didn’t understand why the movie ended so abruptly. I keep trying to explain the fact that it ended that way on purpose, because there is a second and third book in this series (which I will definitely be picking up soon!)

I gave The Maze Runner book 5 out of 5 stars and the movie 4 out of 5 stars.
It has become one of my favorite books and I loved watching it come to life on screen.

Let me know in the comments below what you thought of The Maze Runner!

Maria
Click here to find me on goodreads! 

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: CREATURE FEATURE #1 – GRIEVERS | readsbymandm

Leave a Reply

