BOOK REVIEW: BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP BY S.J. WATSON

9736930Title: Before I Go to Sleep
Author: S.J. Watson
Published: 2011 by Harper
359 pages
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Maria’s thoughts:
Christine wakes up every morning confused, not knowing where or who she is until seeing pictures of herself taped onto the bathroom mirror. Not even recognizing her own husband, Christine must be told, day after day, that she has a severe case of amnesia and will forget everything the moment she falls into a deep sleep. She has no choice but to rely on the husband that seems like a stranger to her, because she has no one else – that is until she starts seeing Dr. Nash.

Dr. Nash wants nothing more than to help Christine remember her past so she can begin living a happier life. He truly believes that writing in a journal on a daily basis may help trigger her memories. Christine decides to give this method a try – desperately wanting remember what had happened to her. The more Christine writes in her journal, which she keeps hidden away for only her to see, the more she questions if the story her husband is telling her is the truth.

Christine was a wonderful character to read about. She was very determined and strong. I kept putting myself in her shoes while reading and I don’t know how she did it. Throughout this journey, with many bumps along the road, Christine does not give up. She is also extremely smart. I enjoy reading about characters who put pieces together all on their own. Despite what people are telling Christine – there is really no way for her to know if they are telling the truth. She is brave, facing her fears and visiting the places of her past, no matter how frightening, and doing everything she can to remember who she is and what had happened to her.

S.J Watson has a very addicting and thrilling writing style. I had to keep reading. I could not let myself put this book down until finally finding out what really happened to our main character Christine. This book kept me on edge and guessing the entire time. I also really enjoyed that this story allowed us to read what was written in Christine’s journal. The journal entries added much more to the story and made it seem much more realistic.

I honestly had my doubts before picking this one up. I thought it might be boring because I typically read YA books, and I thought it would be repetitive because Christine has to be told who she is every single day. I WAS WRONG. WRONG. WRONG. Far from being dull, this book was MYSTERIOUS, HAUNTING, SUSPENSEFUL and ADDICTING. I read this in one single night, staying up quite a bit later than usual (I also had a hard time falling asleep after finishing because I was mind blown after reading the ending.)

I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars. It has earned its rightful place on my favorite’s shelf, so I would DEFINITELY recommend this to mature teenagers and adults. Oh my goodness. Just read this book.

And one more thing… Be careful who you trust.

Mallory’s thoughts:
Morning after morning, Christine wakes up into the life of a woman she doesn’t know. Each morning she wakes up next to a strange man that she doesn’t recognize, only to find out that it is her husband, Ben. Over and over again he explains to Christine that she has amnesia and cannot remember anything after she falls asleep. He tells her to go into the bathroom where he has pictures taped to the mirror for her. She finally settles down for the day and Ben leaves for work..and then Dr. Nash calls. He tells her that they have been seeing each other and working on Christine’s memory. He also tells her that she has been keeping a secret journal that is hidden away in her closet. Day after day Christine reads through her previous days until little by little she starts to remember what happened to her.

One of the most interesting concepts I’ve read about all year. It was so interesting being inside Christine’s head and really feeling what she is going through. She was an amazingly strong character to read about and had me rooting for her the entire time. I now consider myself very lucky that I can wake up and remember my days.

I loved that a lot of this book is told from Christine’s journal, it gives such a great effect. I was a little scared because Christine reads the same thing over and over each day and I thought that would become repetitively annoying and boring, but it was so well done that it didn’t seem that way at all.

As a debut novel I am extremely impressed with Watson’s writing. He has a new book coming out next year and I will not hesitate checking it out.

There is also a movie coming out starring Colin Firth (swoon) and Nicole Kidman. The trailer looks great and I can’t wait to watch it! You can watch it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OtSzAEvBIK0

I recommend this book to everyone! Please don’t hesitate checking it out because you mainly read young adult or other certain genres. This is a book that will keep everyone on the edge of their seats.

A 4/5 star rating from me.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

