BOOK REVIEW: THIS IS WHAT HAPPY LOOKS LIKE BY JENNIFER E. SMITH

15790873Title:This is What Happy Looks Like
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Published: 2013 by Headline
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 416
Click here to find it on Goodreads!

Maria’s Thoughts: 

Small town girl, Ellie O’Neil, receives a random email that leads to lots of conversation. She realises that
the guy responding to her emails actually has a lot in common with her and is very easy to talk to. They
continue to exchange emails, but Ellie doesn’t share this with her friends or family. Why would she? It’s not
like he would show up in her home town out of all places.

Just kidding – that’s totally what happens.

Little does Ellie know, she didn’t befriend any ordinary boy – but movie star Graham Larkin. And he DOES in
fact show up in her home town with high hopes of getting to know her better.

When Ellie discovers the true identity of her internet BFF, she isn’t very happy. Ellie has reasons not to get involved with someone in the public eye.

The emails between Ellie and Graham made this book a cute quick read. I liked that the fact that the emails didn’t stop after they met in person.

I do have to mention that there were a few things that bothered me.

  1. The fact that instead of being together the few weeks that graham was in town, Ellie only comes to her senses 3 days before he leaves. WTF. I know it is meant to be that way, but COME ON. If I only had 3 weeks to spend with a boy that I so obviously liked, I would try to make the best out of it. So Ellie really annoyed me when she and Graham weren’t seeing each other.
  2. And also, Ellie’s mom kind of ticked me off. I didn’t like her view on Graham. I know that Ellie is young and her mother’s opinion is very important – but she didn’t even give him a chance. Ellie’s mom was so wrapped up in not wanting her to make the same mistakes that she had. I know that this may be realistic. There are many moms out there that are overprotective of their daughters. But for me, this kind of took away from the enjoyment and cuteness of this book.

All in all, I had fun while reading “This is what happy looks like”. I really did. It wasn’t the perfect contemporary in my opinion, but it was a great escape from the real world. I mean, I’d be down for hanging out with a movie star.

I do think this book is great for the summertime (which is when I read it) and I rated it 4 out of 5 stars on goodreads.

Maria

Click here to check out my Goodreads !

1 Comment

  1. Lovely review. I totally agree, this book was cute and a perfect summer read. I think I read it last summer. Can’t wait to read her other books.
    Also, thanks so much for stopping by my blog.
    I will follow you from now on and I hope you’ll do the same.
    Andreea (To All the Books I’Ve Loved Before)

    Like

Leave a Reply

