BOOK REVIEW: SUCCUBUS BLUES BY RICHELLE MEAD

succubus-blues
Title: Succubus Blues
Author: Richelle Mead
Published: 2007
Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal
Pages: 343

Georgina Kincaid is not only the assistant manager of a huge bookstore, but also a succubus. This means that she needs sex to survive. Because of this, Georgina refuses to have any sort of romantic relationship. Often lonely, she doesn’t enjoy her duty as a Succubus. When Georgina hears of a vampire being killed, she is determined to figure out who was behind it. On top of the murders going on, Georgina finds herself falling for a certain someone. If only she could kiss him without sucking the life out of the man…

I adored Georgina! She was very fun to read about. I thought it was great that she worked at a bookstore, loved to read, loved to drink coffee and hang out with her cat… Even as a shape shifting succubus, I found myself relating to her. She isn’t some dumb girl that’s only use is sleeping with men either… No Georgina is very smart. Little by little, she put pieces together. She did her research. She asked the right questions. Not to mention, she kicks ass! A succubus doesn’t have any super strength powers, but Georgina is a strong person all on her own. I also liked that she was constantly trying to put other peoples happiness before her own. The whole reason she swore off relationships, was to protect the men that she loved. When she realizes that they are getting too close, she cuts them loose. Not because she doesn’t love them, or want to be with them, but for their own good. She could have been the other way around – making men fall in love with her and then sucking their souls from them through sex. In my opinion, she wasn’t selfish at all. And I felt for Georgina, the more I learned about her past.

Seth was also an interesting character. Georgina’s longtime favorite author, Seth, had decided to move to Seattle early on in the book. She has always dreamed of meeting him – but their first encounter didn’t exactly go as she had planned. Seth was quiet, awkward and didn’t really know how to socialize. At the beginning of the book, Seth was just a weird writer guy (I was more interested in Roman to be honest).

And then there was Roman. It’s pretty funny how Georgina comes to meet Roman – but i’ll leave that to be a surprise. From that moment on, he is determined to get Georgina to go out with him. Of course she wants to, longing to be with someone and not have to worry about corrupting his soul, but she can’t risk it. Georgina turns him down, over and over again. Roman just doesn’t give up on her. I’ll leave it at that…

Richelle Mead does a fantastic job and she never disappoints me. Her writing keeps me so interested and invested in the story that I never want to do anything else while reading her books. I love the voice that she gave Georgina and I love the way that her story was told. I DO recommend this to people who enjoy paranormal and urban fantasy books. I loved it and am really looking forward to reading the rest of the series. If you aren’t into the whole immortal thing – this book might not be your cup of tea. ALSO – be aware that this IS an ADULT book. As you would probably know by now, sex is a pretty open topic in this book (it is about a succubus, what do you expect?). That being said, it doesn’t revolve around sex. So I was happy about that. 5 out of 5 stars! Amazing read. It didn’t take long for me to jump into this world, and I loved every minute of it.

-Maria

Leave a Reply

