SERIES REVIEW: JURASSIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON

76778650
First book information 
Title: Jurassic Park
Author: Michael Crichton
Published: 1990 by Alfred A. Knopf
480 pages
Click here to find it on Goodreads
Second book information
Title: The Lost World
Author: Michael Crichton
Published: 1995 by Alfred A. Knopf
448 pages
Click here to find it on Goodreads

I have definitely been on a dinosaur kick lately and there sure aren’t that many dinosaur books to choose from. I’m sure everyone knows by now what these books are about. The creators of Jurassic Park have taken DNA from mosquitoes remains inside of fossils and have cloned it and made real dinosaurs. Which sounds freaking awesome, but of course it doesn’t take long for something to go wrong.

This was one of my favourite childhood movies and I’m not too sure why it took me so long to get around to this series. I’m not going to lie, I had low expectations for this series and I was quite pleasantly surprised by it. Crichton puts a lot of scientific detail into the books, especially the parts about the dinosaur DNA and the building of the park. I thought that all the science parts would be boring but I quite liked it. The plot and characters fall pretty close to the movie but a few extra scenes are added here and there. I did have a problem with Lex’s character. She was so great in the movie but in the first book she was just a whiney and miserable girl. Other than that the first book was fabulous and thrilling. The second book was a little more of a let down for me. The first 200 pages or so were so slow that I wanted to keep putting the book down. The second half was more action packed but I still did end up docking a couple stars. This is a great science fiction thriller series and overall I gave it a 3.5/5 stars.

Now of course after reading these I had to go check out some dinosaurs for myself
2014-09-01 13.35.30 2014-09-01 13.41.36 2014-09-01 14.18.20 2014-09-01 14.26.14 2014-09-01 14.37.04 2014-09-01 14.50.39
I had a fabulous time at Jurassic Forest. My younger self’s dream come true! It was rainy but it definitely didn’t dampen my spirits.

Mallory

Leave a Reply

