BOOK REVIEW: OBSIDIAN BY JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT

bbb
Title: Obsidian (Lux #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: September 2011 by Entangled Teen
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 361
Click here to find Obsidian on goodreads

Maria read and reviewed this book with her friend Mackenzie.
Click for Mackenzie’s goodreads
Click for Maria’s goodreads

Maria and Mackenzie’s thoughts:

Book blogger, Katy, is new to West Virginia. Forced to move and change schools after the death of her father, she would much rather be reading and reviewing books than making new friends. After the non-stop encouragement from her mother, Katy decides to pay her new neighbours a visit. That is when she meets Dee and her arrogant, but very attractive, brother Daemon. Daemon refused to welcome Katy into the neighboorhood and on top of that he did not want her to become friends with his sister. This offended Katy, of course, but she eventually learns why Daemon is so overprotective of his sister and how to live with her alien neighbours.

Katy

Maria: I loved Katy. When she finds out about her neighbours being from another planet, it shows how much of a strong, confident and kick-ass character she truly is. Unlike a lot of female characters, Katy does not sit back and do what she is told. She will stand up and fight not only for herself, but for Dee and Daemon. Being human does not weaken her. Katy is also a very relatable and funny caracter, which makes this book so much better.

Mackenzie: I liked Katy as a character because she is very strong and sticks up for herself. I love that she loves books and book blogging. I also like that she isn’t one of those annoying lead characters that can’t do anything for themselves.

Daemon

Maria: Daemon was pretty much an ass throughout the entire novel, but as ignorant and as obnoxious as he could be, I couldn’t help but love him. It helps that he is a total hottie with green eyes though 😉 I think that it’s safe to say that Daemon has mood swings. I loved that Katy wasn’t afraid to stand up to him, even when he made her feel like total crap. I want to learn more about his caracter and why he behaves this way most of the time.

Mackenzie: I actually really love Daemon. I love that he is protective of his sister and caring. Even though he acts like a jerk, it’s entertaining to read about. I think that Daemon is an interesting character in general to read about, especially since he is an alien.

The relationship between Katy and Daemon

Maria: Can we say love\hate relationship? Like Daemons frequent mood swings, their relationship is hot and cold. One minute they hate eachother, and the next minute they are literally inches away from kissing. It may sound annoying, but it worked very well in the story. Katy struggles with her feelings towards Daemon since the very first time she layed eyes on him. She tries so hard to convince herself that she hates him, when the sexual tension is so obviously THERE. I’m just really proud of Katy for not giving Daemon what he wants. If he gives her shit, she will give it right back. I also loved the fact that their relationship took time to develop. And it is still developing (they still hate each other half of the time).

Mackenzie: I really like how Katy can stand up for herself to Daemon. I really love when they get along because you see the other side of Daemon that he hides from the outside world.

The relationship between Katy and Dee

Maria: Dee befriended Katy very quickly, but instead of it feeling rushed, it showed how kind-hearted Dee really was. I feel like Dee just has a very friendly personality and would naturally go out of her way to welcome the new girl in town. They develop a very strong friendship, going against the wishes of Daemon and most of the neighboorhood. Dee makes Katy’s move alot easier. This may end up being a friendship that will last a very long while.

The setting

Maria: I loved the fact that Katy, Dee and Daemon were neighbours and I really enjoyed visualizing both houses next to eachother. The small town fit the alien aspect very well, not wanting to attract very many people to them. It was funny to read about people giving Katy such strange looks in town. Also, the typical highschool cafeteria was great (spaghetti scene though…).

The writing

Maria: Addicting. Sarcastic. Funny. Entertaining. Jennifer L. Armentrout did a great job at pulling her readers in and keeping them from ever wanting to put Obsidian down. Literally. The writting was hilarious. The entire 335 pages were interesting and never boring. I never wanted the book to hurry up and be over. I never wanted to be reading or doing anything else while reading this book. I really love that Armentrout chose to write about aliens and not our typical paranormal beings. I found this super original and interesting. Maybe that’s just me – I haven’t read very many alien-related books. I am convinced that Jennifer L. Armentrout is a brilliant author and I can’t wait to read the rest of her work! I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars and will be reading Onyx very very soon!

Mackenzie: I loved the writing. I really loved the dialogue between the characters and how fast paced it was. I also loved that there was always something happening to grab your attention. I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars!

As you can see, we both LOVED this book! We encourage all paranormal-romance lovers to pick up the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Big thanks to Mackenzie for reading and reviewing this book along with me. It’s always fun to get different point of views. I’m sure that Mackenzie will be helping with more book-blog posts in the future. – Maria

Leave a Reply

