BOOK REVIEW: WE WERE LIARS BY E. LOCKHART

16143347
Title: We Were Liars
Author: E. Lockhart
Published: 2014 by Delacorte Press
240 pages
Click here to find it on Goodreads

Maria’s thoughts:
A beautiful, mysterious summer read that I won’t be forgetting for a very long time.Β 

We Were Liars begins with a confused teenage girl named Cadence, but unlike most light “summertime” reads, Cadence’s story was deep, poetic and had a very orininal writing style.

“Then he pulled out a handgun and shot me in the chest. I was standing in the lawn and I fell. The bullet hole opened wide and my heart rolled out of my rib cage and down into my flower bed.”

By the time I read that, I knew I was in for a treat.

The writing:
The unique and graphic comparisons in this book blew me away very early on. I found myself falling in love with the writing style. It is definitely something I would like to read and experience again in the future.

The setting:
The story of the wealthy Sinclair family took place off the coast of Massachusetts. The beautiful setting of a mysterious island made this story even more captivating. I even thought about the island when I wasn’t reading the book. It was that beautiful to me.Β 

The characters:
And of course, I now have a special place in my heart for the liars. This is a book that really gets you thinking once you are able to finally put the pieces together. I actually found myself thinking about the liars more than once after finishing this book. I miss the four of them. I didn’t realize how attached I actually was until i reached the ending, (The craziest most unexpected ending that I have ever read) but Cadence, Mirren, Gat and Johnny felt like real people to me – more like old friends than book characters.

The ending:
I still find myself short for words while discussing the final chapters of this book, but I am happy with the way that E.Lockhart carefuly chose her last words.

The short chapters and the mystery made for a fast paced read that I couldn’t put down. I recommend this to everyone. I understand that there are mixed reviews but it’s totally worth the read.

I give We Were Liars 5 out of 5 stars.

By far my new favorite book set in the summer.


Mallory’s thoughts:
The hype surrounding this book was unbelievable so I knew I had to read it before I ended up getting spoiled. And the blurb on Goodreads certainly does plant that curiosity in you.

Every summer, seventeen year old Cadence Sinclair and her extended Sinclair family spend the summer on Beechwood Island. Beechwood Island is a secluded island off the coast of Massachusetts that the Sinclair family owns. And here is where we meet our group of liars. Cadence, Mirren, Johnny and Gat, who only ever get to see each other through the summers so they always look forward to them. In summer #15 Cadence has an accident and loses her memories of that summer. The other three refuse to talk to her about it and she struggles to come up with the answers of what happened by herself. What unfolds is a chilling and unique story.

So first let’s discuss the plot and setting. The Goodreads blurb doesn’t give too much away and like I said before, just plants that little seed of curiosity in there. I personally love going into a book knowing nothing about it, so the less information the better. And this worked out so well for We Were Liars. I love the summer setting of the book and not getting to see what everyone else is doing all year round. It gives the visits to the island even more of a special feel and it helps with making the island seem more secluded and cut off from the world. The setting of the private island was a fabulous choice for the story. It really gives that feeling of isolation and adds a little creepiness to it.

On to the characters. It was a bit hard keeping up with everyone in the beginning but the book is actually provided with a family tree and map of Beechwood which is brilliant. We get lots of information on every single character and every one of them is made out to be significant which is a very important factor in books for me. There is nothing I hate more than having a ton of characters to fill spaces.

Moving on to writing style. The author has a very haunting and unique feel, although the style definitely takes some getting used to. It is a very easy and simple free style but it tends to match the story nicely. Lockhart really has the ability of keeping you interested and in suspense from beginning to end. I constantly was questioning myself, I thought I had everything figured out, but each chapter had me thinking different things. And of course, in the end I was totally wrong and was blown away (but of course we must deny). You really don’t expect the twists and I love the way everything meshed together in the end.

If you are scared to read this book because of the hype I strongly suggest you give this book a try anyway. And if you are the type of person who likes to spoil a book for yourself, I advise you not to do it with this one. I promise you it will be worth it, let yourself enjoy the mystery.

I gave this a 4.5 out of 5 star rating.

Leave a Reply

